Tours

" Chiang Saen –Temples tour "

Wat Phra That Chedi Luang: Located in Chiang Saen old town, it was built by King Saen Phu, the 3rd ruler of the Lanna kingdom in early 13th Century. Ancient sites include the bell-shaped, Lanna-style principal Chedi which measures 88 metres height with a base 24 metres width, is the largest structure in Chiang Saen. There are also remains of ancient Vihan and Chedi. It’s thought to have been the principal temple of King Mengrai’sformer capital. Located in the northwest of Chiang Rai province on the banks of the Mekong near the Golden Triangle, the city’s ruins are scattered throughout the modern town of Chiang Saen.

Wat Pa Sak: about one kilometre to the west of Chiang Saen in Tambon Wiang, was built by King Saen Phu in 1295 and three hundred teak trees were planted, hence the name is Pa Sak (Teak Wood). It was then the residence of the patriarch. Wat Sa Pak is a prime example of the Early Classic Lanna style but also incorporates a number of other styles including SukhothaiHaripunchai and Burmese Bagan. The chedi itself measures 12.5 metres tall with a base of 8 metres width, enshrined the Lord’s Buddha relics.

Phra That Pha Ngao: is located on the top of a mountain outside of the city, which has a bell shaped chedi situated on large boulers. Nearby is a Vihan where several old Chiang Saen-style Buddha Statues are enshrined.  This hilltop temple offers a unique and spectacular view of the Maekhong River.

Wat Phra That Doi Pu Khao: This riverside temple along the banks of the Mekong is one of the best in Chiang Saen. Located outside of the centre of town, the elevated location of the temple complex provides great views across the hills of the Golden Triangle and river into Laos and Myanmar.  This temple which is believed to have been built by a king of Wiang Hirannakorn Ngoen Yang in the middle of the 8th Century. The Vihan and crumbles chedis are the only visible remains of antiquities today.

Wat Phra That Chom Kitti: Located approximately 1.7 kilometers from town, this hilltop temple has a pagoda containing a Buddha relic.  The Mae Kong River can clearly be seen from here. This temple is said to have been constructed in the year 940 AD by Prachao Pangkaraj the 24 ruler of Yonok and Phrachao Prahom Maharaj to preserve a Buddha relic that were split into several portions. 

Included: Lunch, Admission Fee

4000 Baht / 1 pax
2200 Baht / 2 pax
1600 Baht / 3 pax
1300 Baht / 4 pax
1100 Baht / 5 pax
1000 Baht / 6-12 pax